Daily Prompt: Fish

pikeplacefishfinal7415via Daily Prompt: Fish

Fish! If you’ve read the book or visited the Pike Place Fish Market in Seattle, WA, then the one word prompt immediately conjures up images of fun, team spirit and, for me, a special time of comfort.

I was in Seattle for the memorial service of my first grandson who lived 21 days before leaving us bewildered and bereaved. We’d prayed and hoped and prayed some more for a miracle of healing but for Micah Andrew Johnson, his healing took place in heaven. After the service, I found myself at the fish market as a way of distracting myself from my feelings. The team at Pike Place typically asked their watching audience where they’re from and what brings them to Seattle. The question was asked of me and I somberly answered and tried to shrink to the back of the crowd but that team was not going to let me wallow in sorrow.

For the next 30 minutes I was embraced in loving hugs, fishy kisses and invited behind the counter for a picture. They told me they were sorry for my loss and hoped my trip home would be safe and peaceful and indeed it was. I still had tears but some of them were shed in grateful thanks for their kindness to me that day.

Leave a Reply

